APC leads PDP in Kaduna LG polls

Final results for some of the local councils in the election held  in Kaduna state yesterday showed the ruling All Progressives Congress, cruising to victory.

According to results announced by returning officers, the  APC won in Soba, Zaria, Lere, Ikara, Makarfi, Birnin Gwari,  Giwa, Kagarko, Kudan, Igabi and Kajuru.

The results in other councils are still being awaited.

Soba is the local council of  Senator Sule Hunkuyi, who is at loggerheads with Governor Nasir El-Rufai.

Makarfi is the council of former PDP chairman and governor, Ahmad Makarfi.  Governor  El-Rufai’s candidates also won handily in Senator Shehu Sani’s constituency of Kajuru LG.

Some of the results:


APC 42859


Soba LG chairmanship



Kudan LG Chairmanship:

APC : 76,131

PDP: 3,394


APC 57,005

PDP 2,636


In El-Rufai’s polling unit, the PDP gave the APC some scares. But the APC still won the Unguwar Sarki ward with  overwhelming majority.

Polling Unit result:

Chairman 65 APC, 50 PDP

Councillor 68 APC, 45 pdp

Unguwar Sarki ward result:

APC 14863

PDP 706